Department of Information Technology

Technology, research and ethics

The mandatory part of the course gives the required 2 credit points in ethics for TekNat students.
The optional part focuses on theory and practice on technology and natural science ethics.

Start date: 16 October 2013, room 1111 Polacks
ECTS credits: 2 and 3
Course period: 2013 - 2014
Maximum number of participants: 30
Apply before: 2013-10-16

Target group/s and recommended background: PhD students from all the disciplines of TekNat. No special prerequisities.

Contact person: Iordanis Kavathatzopoulos

Course literature:

Mandatory part, 2 credits

1. Good research practice; Freedom, responsibility and universality of science
2. Papers, links

Optional part, 3 credits

1. The elements of moral philosophy. J. Rachels and S. Rachels. McGraw-Hill.
2. Papers, links: Sunstein, Shalvi, Cockton, Friedman, Jonas, Schumacher, Neumann, Spafford, Moor, Johnson, Stallman, Górniak-Kocikowska, Weckert.

Aim of course

Development and use of modern technology, for example IT, industrial applications, social media and biotechnology, affect people, organizations and society. Modern technology offer new possibilities and therefore causes new ethical issues. The way these issues are handled determines the effectiveness and usability of technology. There is a big risk that necessary and expensive technical systems may be abandoned or used sub-optimally because of ethical conflicts. People and organizations may be hurt when they doubt or refuse to adopt a certain technology. Considering ethical aspects significant to efficiency and effectiveness of technology demands personal skills, suitable cooperation and coordination processes, and access to ethical tools and methods. This has to be done early in the development process of technological systems as well as during installation and ordinary running of the systems. The course will offer knowledge in the areas of technology ethics and psychology ethics. Participants will train their ability to apply tools and methods in handling moral issues connected to project planning, project application, technology construction, implementation and use. Focus will be on methods and practical skills for people working with modern technologies.

Mandatory and optional parts

The first mandatory part, 2 credit points, focuses mainly on research ethics, and works as an introduction to the follow-up optional part.
The second optional part, 3 credit points, expands to philosophical theory, technology and natural science ethics, and to application of different methods to handle professional ethical issues. Participation in the first mandatory part is a requirement for this step.

Contents, study format and form of examination

Lectures, seminars, group discussions and group work with focus on technology ethics. Application and evaluation of special tools during development, deployment and running of technology systems.
Treatment of real-life technology ethical conflicts and problems to exercise ethical competence.

Mandatory course, 2cp

Program

Time, room Subject Presenter Literature, links, etc.
16 Oct, 10.15-12.00, 1111 Introduction Iordanis Slides; Apologia Sokratous; Who is a moral subject? Who feels responsible? Who has an option?
22 Oct, 09.15-12.00, 1111 Research issues Group seminar Good research practice; Freedom, responsibility and universality of science; CODEX; Publications;Publishing; Reviewing; Errors; DNA evidence fabrication; Charlatanry in science and in publishing; Criminal scientists; A special student 1, 2; Conflicts 1, 2, 3, 4; Abstracts of each participant A-M; Abstracts of each participant; Slides group 1, Slides group 2, Slides group 3, Slides group 4, Slides group 5, Slides group 6
07 Nov, 09.15-12.00, 1211 Presentation of group projects Group seminar Slides group 1, Slides group 2, Slides group 3, Slides group 4, Slides group 5, Slides group 6

Seminars

Presentations, group work

For each seminar you need to prepare a ten-minute presentation and a corresponding number of slides.
The slides have to be uploaded here on the program before the seminars. Upload them here yourself or if you cannot do this e-mail them to Iordanis
For the first seminar 22/10 you prepare in your group a presentation based on the literature referred in the program.
For the second seminar you identify a moral problem that you feel is important and relevant for your group. Describe it, identify the problem owner and state the problem, often including a moral dilemma, as a question that has more than one answer. Example: Should I accept to be included as a co-author of my colleague's research paper, which I haven't contributed to and which I cannot even judge the quality of? Use he OLE questionnaire and answer the questions. Prepare your group presentation based on this analysis.

Participants, individual work

In preparation for the seminar 22/10 each and one of the participants writes an abstract of 500 words about the literature we will discuss.
All abstracts will be uploaded here at least one day before the seminar. Upload them on the program here yourself or if you cannot do this e-mail them to Iordanis

Examination

Active participation in the group work and in group seminars. Individual abstract and home exam (exam is not needed for the students who follow the second part of the course).
The home exam is here: PDF
Send your exam as pdf to: Urkund
Deadline: 25 November 2013

Evaluation

The course will be evaluated by the participants, and the link is here: Evaluering

Participants

Matilda Andersson, Chemistry, matilda.andersson@mkem.uu.se
Tatiana Chistiakova, Information Technology, tatiana.chistiakova@it.uu.se
Börje Dahrén, Earth Sciences, borje.dahren@geo.uu.se
Brendan Frisk Dubsky, Mathematics, brendan.frisk.dubsky@math.uu.se
Samuel Edwards, Mathematics, samuel.edwards@math.uu.se
Emma Eriksson, Chemistry, emma.eriksson@kemi.uu.se
Jonas Flodin, Information Technology, jonas.flodin@it.uu.se
Joakim Karlsson, SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden, Joakim.Karlsson@sp.se
Emil Kieri, Information Technology, emil.kieri@it.uu.se
Jan Klosa, Information Technology, jan.klosa@it.uu.se
Konstantinos Koukos, Information Technology, konstantinos.koukos@it.uu.se
Anastasia Kruchinina, Information Technology, anastasia.kruchinina@it.uu.se
Dorothea Ledinek, Solid State Electronics, dorothea.ledinek@angstrom.uu.se
Carl Leonardsson, Information Technology, carl.leonardsson@it.uu.se
Kristina Lidayova, Information Technology, kristina.lidayova@it.uu.se
Jonatan Lindén, Information Technology, jonatan.linden@it.uu.se
Fei Liu, Information Technology, fei.liu@it.uu.se
Yu Liu (Ernest), Mathematics, yu.liu@math.uu.se
Lina Meinecke, Information Technology, lina.meinecke@it.uu.se
Slobodan Milovanovic, Information Technology, slobodan.milovanovic@it.uu.se
Kristian Nygren, Chemistry, kristian.nygren@kemi.uu.se
Flore Remouit, Engineering Sciences, flore.remouit@angstrom.uu.se
Victor Shcherbakov, Information Technology, victor.shcherbakov@it.uu.se
Pavle Subotic, Information Technology, psubotic@gmail.com
Thanh Truong, Information Technology, thanh.truong@it.uu.se
Ambuj Varshney, Information Technology, ambuj.varshney@it.uu.se
Afshin Zafari, Information Technology, afshin.zafari@it.uu.se
Aleksandar Zeljic, Information Technology, aleksandar.zeljic@it.uu.se
Minpeng Zhu, Information Technology, minpeng.zhu@it.uu.se
Johannes Åman Pohjola, Information Technology, johannes.aman-pohjola@it.uu.se

Reserve list

Audrey Campeau, Earth Sciences, campeau.audrey@gmail.com
Sobhan Badiozamany, Information Technology, sobhan.badiozamany@it.uu.se
Magnus Åberg, Engineering Sciences; Solid State Physics, Magnus.Aberg@Angstrom.uu.se
Yunyun Zhu, Information Technology, yunyun.zhu@it.uu.se
Cheng Xu, Information Technology, cheng.xu@it.uu.se
Magnus Grandin, Information Technology, magnus.grandin@it.uu.se
Eryn McFarlane, Animal Ecology/Ecology and Genetics, eryn.mcfarlane@ebc.uu.se
Lovisa Wretman, Organismal Biology, lovisa.wretman@ebc.uu.se
Valerie Hubalek, Limnology, valerie.hubalek@ebc.uu.se
Lucie Gattepaille, EBC, lucie.gattepaille@ebc.uu.se
Hwei-yen Chen, Animal Ecology, hwei-yen.chen@ebc.uu.se
Andrés J. Cortés, Ecology and Genetics, andres.cortes@ebc.uu.se
Thawatchart Chulapakorn, Physics, thawatchart.chulapakorn@physics.uu.se
Erika Jansson, Environmental Toxicology, erika.jansson@ebc.uu.se
Gizem Korkut, EBC, gizem.korkut@ebc.uu.se
Kingkamon Junkunlo, Comparative Physiology, kingkamon.junkunlo@ebc.uu.se
Jakub Rybinski, Animal Ecology Department, jakub.rybinski@ebc.uu.se
Syeda Rabab Naqvi, Physics, rabab.naqvi@physics.uu.se
Xiaoyue Pan, Information Technology, xiaoyue.pan@it.uu.se
Fredrik Wahlberg, Information Technology, fredrik.wahlberg@it.uu.se
Arshi Mustafa, ECB, arshi.mustafa@ebc.uu.se
Patrik Ahlberg, Solid State Electronics, patrik.ahlberg@angstrom.uu.se
Malkolm Hinnemo, Solid State Electronics, malkolm.hinnemo@angstrom.uu.se
Rikard Emanuelsson, Chemistry, rikard.emanuelsson@kemi.uu.se
Kjell Jorner, Chemistry, kjell.jorner@kemi.uu.se
Annika Söderholm, Cell and Molecular Biology, annika.soderholm@icm.uu.se
Murielle Ålund, Animal Ecology, murielle.alund@ebc.uu.se

Groups

Optional course 3cp

It will be given during spring semester 2014. Information and schedule will appear here.

Updated  2013-11-18 17:03:07 by Iordanis Kavathatzopoulos.